The IAEA is an international organization acting as the leading world’s intergovernmental forum and the global coordinator for scientific and technical cooperation in the field of using nuclear energy and nuclear technologies for peaceful purposes. In addition, the IAEA acts as the international inspectorate for the application of nuclear inspection oversight measures, that is, verification measures applied to civilian nuclear programmes.

It was established in 1957 as an autonomous organization within the United Nations. Today, it comprises a wide range of services, programmes and activities, which are primarily based on the needs of its Member States. According to the latest official data of 19 September 2023, the IAEA has the overall of 178 Member States. The Agency, whose headquarters is in Vienna, has liaison offices in the UN in New York, Rome and Geneva, regional safeguards offices in Toronto and Tokyo, laboratories in Austria and Monaco, and provides support to its research centre in Trieste, which operates under the auspices of UNESCO.

The strategy and policies of the Agency are established at the proposal of the Board of Governors at the General Conference. The Secretariat of the Policy-Making Organs, managed by the diector and six deputies, is responsible for programme and activity implementation.

In accordance with the decision at the 45th General Conference, the Republic of Serbia was accepted into the IAEA membership on 31 October 2001. This meant that our country besides the assumed international obligations, acquired rights and opportunities stemming from the full membership in this international organization.

The Republic of Serbia maintains its cooperation with the IAEA by engaging into different activities through the IAEA programmes, especially the Technical Cooperation Programme (projects, scientific and consultant visits, training courses, conferences, meetings and other types of cooperation).  The cooperation and coordination on the national level was administered by The Ministry of Education, Science and Technological Development between May 2010 and December 2018 by means of liaison channels in Serbian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (SRPNA). Today, this is conducted through liaison office (NLO/NLA) in the Serbian Radiation and Nuclear Safety and Security Directorate (SRBATOM).

National Liaison Officer with the IAEA in the Republic of Serbia is Mr Sladjan Velinov.

National Liasion Assistant with the IAEA in the Republic of Serbia is Ms. Radmila Serovic, PhD

The IAEA recognizes only the state channels in proposal submission and any other form of official communication. The subjects from Serbia (scientific and research organizations, and other organizations and institutions) submit their proposals according to invitations the IAEA sends to our country, and based on circular or web-based information to SRBATOM. Participation of the representatives of the Republic of Serbia is proposed exclusively through the liaison office with the IAEA in SRBATOM, which is the focal point in the Republic of Serbia in terms of coordination, harmonization/alignment or mutual communication.

For further information on the International Atomic Energy Agency, go to: